In the past few hours, Facebook users that have been trying to create a ‘vanity URL’ (or username) for their Facebook Pages have been faced with an error.

By going to www.facebook.com/username we see a message saying:

Before you can set your username, you need to confirm your email address. Don’t see the confirmation email? Click the button below to resend.

You are not alone! To many others, it is a common sight:

Before you can set your username, you need to confirm your email address.

Currently on Facebook's 'Username' page.

The problem is that when you click the button to “Resend Email”, then you’re simply told “An error has occurred”.

Without any guidance or explanation from Facebook’s part, this can be very frustrating for users that have recently accumulated the 25 ‘Likes’ required to set a username for their Facebook Page:

Facebook - Resend Email - An error has occurred

Error message when clicking "Resend Email" on Facebook's 'Username' page.

Many users assumed it was due to their internet connection, or a different problem on their side – browser incompatibility, errors with their Facebook account, problems with their email client, an unverified account, etc. But in reality, it seems that there is an error with Facebook. So hang on in there.

We will post the solution as soon as we find out, so to get the updates ASAP click here to subscribe (via RSS feed). (Or go to the very bottom of our website for easy-subscribing!)

Also, other users may have noticed that if you click on the “Resend Email” button too much, you will eventually get a message saying: “Block! You are engaging in behavior that may be considered annoying or abusive by other users.”

Facebook - Block! You are engaging in a beahavior that may be considered annoying or abusive by other users.

Facebook Block on 'Username' page when confirming email (too much).

So don’t click repeatedly! It won’t help. It will just delay your chances of getting your desired Facebook Page vanity URL, as you could be blocked for several days:

You have been blocked from confirming your email because you repeatedly misused this feature. This block will last anywhere from a few hours to a few days. When you are allowed to reuse this feature, please proceed with caution. Further misuse may result in your account being permanently disabled. For further information, please visit our FAQ page.

So stay tuned with BaumDesign!

Update: The problem has been solved! Simply go to www.facebook.com/username and proceed normally.

About these ads